Master’s student Carly Snyder has been selected by the Hogg Foundation for Mental Health as a 2018 Ima Hogg Scholarship recipient. This award, in the amount of $5,000, will support Snyder’s studies prior to launching a career in providing mental health services to underserved and underrepresented individuals and their communities in Texas.

“It is an honor and a privilege to have the support of the Hogg Foundation for Mental Health,” Snyder said. “This award will provide me with additional opportunities to participate in clinical skill-building trainings, attend social work conferences, and learn how to most effectively serve and advocate for communities of marginalized youth in Central Texas.”

Prior to enrolling in the master’s program at the Steve Hicks School of Social Work, Snyder worked as a mental health technician with children and adolescents in a residential treatment center in Austin.

“I worked alongside social workers and other clinical staff who ultimately inspired me to return to school and earn my master’s. Observing these professionals’ ability to relate to and serve youth as members of an interdisciplinary team helped me realize my own passion for this work and skill in serving this population,” Snyder said.

Snyder has completed her first social work internship with Communities in Schools at Burnet Middle School.

“My field experience has spurred my rapidly growing interest in school social work. I look forward to each day of my internship and have been deeply affected by the resiliency, desire for connection and relationship, and capacity for bravery and vulnerability that students demonstrate even in the face of adversity,” she said.

The Ima Hogg Scholarships, established in 1956, are one of the ways that the Hogg Foundation for Mental Health works to create positive impact on mental health services in Texas. The scholarship program was created at the request of founder Ima Hogg to address the need for more trained social workers to provide quality mental health services in the state. Recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement and their commitment to providing mental health services after graduation.