2016 honors dayEvery year, The University of Texas at Austin selects undergraduate students of high academic achievement to be recognized during Honors Day with the title of College Scholar. College Scholars are extraordinary undergraduates who have distinguished themselves through a combination of talent, hard work, and intellectual endeavor.

The 2016 Honoree Listing includes seven Distinguished College Scholars and 28 College Scholars from the School of Social Work:

Distinguished College Scholars: Adam Chance Benden, Olivia Brook Chambers, Katherine Marie Coleman, Katherine Alexandra Page, John Andrew Palmieri, Allison Emily Scott, Jamika Jamie Shivers.

College Scholars: Madison Elizabeth Alford, William Newton Booth, Jessica Botello, Amelia Marie Casas, Shih-Yin Chung, Elizabeth Margaret Cook, Cassandra Nicole De Los Santos, Erin Elizabeth Eberle, Heath Thomas Fowler, Haley Christine Fuson, Dora Idalia Gonzalez, Caitlin Danielle Grim, Emily Ding Han, James Steinberger Hoffman, Amelia Frances Hollis, Meagan Marie Jacobs, Ashley Micaela Kohl, Meagan Nicole McComic, Michelle Marie Merritt, Cynthia Deane Mitchell, Elizabeth Anne Mitchell, Cassandra Elizabeth Najera, Olivia Ruth Powell, Mahaily Elizabeth Rogers, Ariel D Smith, Reginald Dejoie Smith, Alina Francesca Valera, Joanna Nicole Windom.

College Scholars will be honored during Honors Day, Saturday, April 16, 2016. The Honors Day Convocation includes ceremonial elements such as an academic procession, orange and white honors cords worn by students, heraldic banners, inspirational messages and celebratory music. Faculty guests join student honorees in the procession and are seated next to them at the convocation. In a special presentation, students recognized as Distinguished College Scholars are invited to the stage to receive commemorative medallions from academic deans.