Via Hope Texas Mental Health Resource originated as a component of the Texas’ Mental Health Transformation Grant awarded by the US DHHS Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS).  In addition to the support provided through DSHS, the Hogg Foundation for Mental Health has also provided funding for Via Hope, primarily for specific training activities.

With the original five-year SAMHSA award expiring in 2013, DSHS and the Hogg Foundation have committed to continuing their support for Via Hope while it transitions over the next three to five years into a sustainable 501(c)3 non-profit agency.  DSHS and the Hogg Foundation have contracted with the Texas Institute for Excellence in Mental Health (TIEMH) at the School of Social Work to provide technical and programmatic oversight as well as an institutional home for Via Hope during this stage of its development.

Dr. Molly Lopez, TIEMH director, oversees the Via Hope project at UT Austin. The School of Social Work welcomes Via Hope director Dennis Bach and his 10+ member staff to the CSWR-TIEMH fold. Visit Via Hope to learn more.