Dr. Beth Pomeroy
Dr. Beth Pomeroy

Dr. Beth Pomeroy has been elected to The University of Texas at Austin Academy of Distinguished Teachers. This is one of the highest awards the university offers for teaching excellence.

“These faculty members represent UT’s outstanding faculty for their dedication to our students and the university’s goals of educating, inspiring and preparing graduates to be leaders,” said Gregory L. Fenves, executive vice president and provost.

Pomeroy is a professor and coordinator of the clinical social work concentration at the School of Social Work. She joins social work faculty members Drs. Diana DiNitto (1997), David Springer (2005), and Marilyn Armour (2010) in the Academy.

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers, comprising approximately 5% of the tenured faculty in the university, provides leadership in improving the quality and depth of the undergraduate experience. Members of the Academy advise the president and provost on matters related to the University’s instructional mission; participate in seminars, colloquia, and workshops on teaching effectiveness; and serve as mentors to new faculty.

Established in February 1995, the Academy of Distinguished Teachers was one of the first associations of its kind in the nation. Each year, new members of the Academy are selected through a rigorous evaluation process. Honorees are awarded the title University Distinguished Teaching Professor and serve for the duration of their tenure at The University of Texas at Austin.