AUSTIN, Texas – David Evans, University of Texas at Austin School of Social Work lecturer and member of the school’s Advisory Council, was selected as the national recipient of the 2012 Saul Feldman Award for Lifetime Achievement. This award is presented by ACMHA: The College for Behavioral Health Leadership, and named after one of ACMHA’s founders, whose contributions to the advancement of policy in mental health improved the lives of millions.

ACMHA is a leading policy organization serving the behavioral health profession and providing peer-to-peer venues, expanding leadership development and promoting best practices in the field of behavioral health. Evans is recognized for his contributions and leadership in policy development of the mental health and addictions recovery.

Evans is the chief executive officer for Austin Travis County Integral Care. For more than 30 years, he has built a solid track record as a leading figure who forges local and national partnerships that improve the quality of life for individuals with behavioral health disorders and developmental disabilities. In his pursuit of a “mentally healthy community,” Evans has been critical to the development of several community collaborations in Austin and across the nation.

Evans’ contributions to improve the state of behavioral health care in Central Texas include pioneering efforts on the integration of primary and behavioral health, collaborating with CommUnityCare on the E-Merge program and Health Integration Project. Evans will receive his award at the national ACMHA Summit on March 22 in Charleston, South Carolina.